For residences and businesses that have alarm systems within the Travis County Sheriff’s jurisdiction a permit is required per Chapter 68 of the Travis County Procedures. Travis County Sheriff’s jurisdiction is the unincorporated areas of Travis County where a deputy will respond to a residence or business if dispatched. If you live in Travis County, but are within the city limits of another jurisdiction, please contact your local police department to inquire if an alarm permit is required. If you need to determine your jurisdiction, please call 512-854-4768 for assistance.

Register and Pay for an Alarm Permit

Download and complete the Alarm Permit Application; if you need assistance in completing the application, please call 512-854-4768. 

Business Permit: $50

Residential Permit: $25

Payment is accepted by check or money order made payable to Travis County.

Additionally, starting in 2019, Travis County is utilizing Chase/JP Morgan as its new authorized payment processor for electronic payments. Alarm holders will now have the option of paying their alarm fee electronically from their bank account at no charge. If you wish to pay electronically, please email your application to TCSOAlarm@traviscountytx.gov and ask for the electronic option, or call us at 512-854-4768.

Option 1: You can MAIL your application and payment to:

Travis County Sheriff's Office
Attn: Alarm Permit 
P.O. Box 459 
Del Valle, TX 78617

Option 2: You can EMAIL your application and request the electronic payment option in your email. 

Option 3: PAY IN PERSON (Monday - Friday 8:00am - 4:00pm) at:

Travis County Sheriff's Office
5555 Airport Blvd.
Austin, TX 78751

Know the Rules

Any person commits an offense if he or she violates any provision of these rules not otherwise provided for and punishable under Texas law, as enacted and amended. An offense under this section is a Class C Misdemeanor, punishable by a fine not to exceed five hundred dollars ($500).

  • Permit is valid from the date of issuance to December 31.
  • Renewal is required by January 1.
  • Permit is non-transferable and fees are not prorated.
  • Permit must remain on-site.
  • Permit holder is allowed 5 free false alarms before a fine will be imposed.
  • The fine for each false alarm after five is $75.
  • Your alarm must have a 30-minute shut off feature.
  • The permit-holder, or a designee, must be able to deactivate or reset the alarm if needed.
  • The permit holder is responsible for the maintenance of the alarm and for the training of persons in its use.

Chapter 68.016 Violations

Any person commits an offense if he or she violates any provision of these rules not otherwise provided for and punishable under Texas law, as enacted and amended. An offense under this section is a Class C Misdemeanor, punishable by a fine not to exceed five hundred dollars ($500).

Help Reduce False Alarms

A properly maintained and operated alarm system may protect your family and property from danger. However, a malfunctioning or abused system may do just the opposite. Up to 95% of the alarm calls that our officers respond to are false. The false alarm responses take the officers away from proactive patrol efforts in the community. Therefore, it is our goal to work with alarm owners to reduce the number of false alarms so that we may do our job and be there when an actual emergency occurs. The alarm policy of Travis County is designed to ensure that local law enforcement has your alarm on record so that we can contact you if there is a problem. It also has rules for owners so that alarms are properly installed and operated.

Your alarm must have a 30-minute shut off feature. The permit-holder, or a designee, must be able to deactivate or reset the alarm if needed. The permit holder is responsible for the maintenance of the alarm and for the training of persons in its use. Our Community-Based Policing Officers can assist you if you have questions about problems with your alarm and they can give you tips on ways to make sure that you do not have false alarms. If you would like to schedule a Home Security Inspection, please call 512.854.2203.

Home Security Inspection

TCSO Community Outreach Unit can assist you if you have questions about problems with your alarm and they can give you tips on ways to make sure that you do not have false alarms. If you would like to schedule a Home Security Inspection, please contact TCSOCommunityOutreach@traviscountytx.gov | 512-854-8549.

 

 

 

Back to Top